Thursday, November 13, 2008

Just a thought

This past Saturday night as I stuffed my face with pizza at my girlfriend's engagement party I was suddenly struck with the irony of the evening. Here I was celebrating my friend's impending nuptials while another dear friend and roommate was down the street marching for his right to marry if he so chooses one day. Surrounded by couples, married and not, I couldn't help but feel a little guilty for being there. I was happy to be there, to support my good friend and her fiance', alas I wanted to be with him and his friends marching through the streets. Granted, I'm not exactly sure what will come of all these protests, but I do want to show solidarity and nothing will change if we sit on our asses. For a brief moment I wanted to round everyone up at the party and make them go down the street and march. Of course I would look like the loose cannon bridesmaid, and it would have been completely inappropriate, but the thought crossed my mind.

I was talking to my mom, a Republican and a Christian, about Prop 8 and she had two very conflicting things to say about it. Her first point was that it was voted on by the people just like the presidential election and we have to live with how the majority votes. Secondly, she thinks gay folks should just be allowed to get married (but only in California I guess) and then they (the gays) would just shut up about it.

I get that it was voted on and part of living in a democracy is that majority rules. What I couldn't seem to get her to understand is that the majority shouldn't be able to discriminate and take away the civil liberties of minorities. During this conversation I realized that my parents and many other people I know back in North Carolina live in a bubble. They are not exposed to people that different from themselves, they haven't really been affected by the economy, and let's face it they are a little prejudiced. My dad comes from a generation when they did pull themselves up by their bootstraps (I hate that colloquialism) and make something of themselves. I just don't think he gets that others just aren't able to do the same not because they are lazy or stupid, but because of the circumstances they were born into and the lack of opportunity. Not saying it can't be done, but people are a product of their environment. Some people can rise above that and some cannot. It is bewildering when people have no desire to better themselves, but maybe they just don't know that they can.

I completely got off subject there, but my point to my mother was this; that you do have to fight for what you want. If no cared enough to fight for their rights women wouldn't have the right to vote, schools would still be segregated, and gay folks would have to remain closeted. I'm not saying the world will change overnight with a few protests and one election, but I think we're on our way and I know one day gay marriage will not be an issue anymore because everyone will have the right to marry anyone they choose. And don't even get me started on the fact that the only reason this came to a vote was because of the Morman church. Seriously, Mormans? Seriously?

That's all I got right now.

Thursday, October 23, 2008

Mayberry is BLUE!

I thought this was really cute and I just love Andy Griffith, especially after seeing him in Waitress. If I could adopt a grandpa it would be him! He and my dad were born in the same county so it's like he's family already.

See more Ron Howard videos at Funny or Die

Friday, October 17, 2008

Gotcha!

So I was reading my Pajiba and they posted this video. It was Katie Couric's interview of Sarah Palin. I thought, "Why in the hell are they posting this? It's old news?" And then a few seconds later I saw why. Shock and hilarity.


Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Entourage

So my roommate and I were having a brief discussion via iChat about the latest episode of "Entourage." I reread the conversation and decided it was so funny I had to post it here. WARNING: tiny spoiler alert. So just for a chuckle:

ME: on another note, did u watch entourage yet? it's great
ME: best one in a long time
ROOMIE: yeah i watched it last night. i love that show
ME: when ari hit adam
ME: LOVED IT
ROOMIE: haha. i love a slap in the face
ME: reminded me of the time i bitch slapped a guy in a bar
ME: oh it was a bitch slap though
ROOMIE: the best kind
ME: right
ME: i mean
ROOMIE: it's so shaming
ME: it's the most disprespectful thing
ME: right!
ROOMIE: truly satisfying
ME: let's take it to the streets
ME: just go randomly bitch slap people and see how they react
ME: as opposed to people you just slap regular style
ME: it's a sociological study
ME: i bet we could get a grant for it
ROOMIE: maybe... we'd probably get our asses kicked a couple times too
ROOMIE: wear your running shoes
ME: yeah
ME: we'd have each other's back though
ME: maybe bring a tazer if things get ugly
ROOMIE: haha... can you imagine having to defend our actions to the police or a judge
ME: WE HAVE AN EDUCATIONAL GRANT!!!
ME: isn't this america!
ROOMIE: yes i slapped him first
ROOMIE: and then i taized him, yes
ME: but it is a social experiment
ROOMIE: yes unprovoked...
ROOMIE: it's for education!
ME: pimps and mobsters everywhere will benefit from our findings

Friday, September 19, 2008

Sorry about that...

So this morning when I got to work I had some emails from my brother. Both political; one kinda funny, while the other was offensive. I was seriously kind of offended. Who knew!?! Noticing that it wasn't my brother that the email originated with I decided to have some fun. I copied and pasted all of the people the email had been sent to and emailed them back telling them that the email was racist and offensive. And to yuck it up because Obama would be their Commander and Chief soon enough. That doesn't sound crazy liberal, I'm so offended, does it? Yeah I don't think so.

However I didn't stop there. I found the guy who originally sent the email and sent him my own little message. The idiot sent the email from his work email. What a dumb ass. I called him a human resources nightmare. I mean seriously! I don't want to get all crazy or anything, but he could offend a customer and lose business.

I'm sure my brother will be PISSED at me if he figures it out, but I was just trying to liven up my Friday morning! And scare the shit out of some guy before he starts his weekend. Hilarious!

Monday, August 11, 2008

Awesome.

I just couldn't help myself.





Friday, August 8, 2008

My boy John

Holy shit. The Democrats cannot catch an effing break. John Edwards, seriously, c’mon, help me out here! You are not helping me win any arguments with my crazy Republican parents. I had you in my top friends on Myspace, dude! Personally I am slightly disappointed by what has transpired, but I cannot judge him too harshly. Although he has hurt people and made a mistake, he’s only human and it’s none of our business. People make mistakes and I honestly believe that his infidelity has no bearing on his ability to do good in this world. You can argue ‘til you’re blue in the face how his questionable morals directly correlate with his ability to lead but I call bullshit. Some of our greatest presidents and other political leaders had some extracurricular sexy times. JFK, RFK, FDR, WJC (that’s William Jefferson Clinton for you idiots, I’m just trying to keep with the three-initial theme I had going.) Cheating on his wife doesn't make Harry a bad plumber or doctor. Hell we all know people who have cheated and we're still friends with them or even still married to them.

I haven’t watched any news because although I’ve put a functioning television in place of the one that crapped out on me, the cable box has only component video outputs and this other TV is old as dirt and only takes RCA or S-Video so we now have a black and white TV. I cannot be bothered with watching it.

That said, I can only imagine what they’re saying over at Fox News or what Chris Matthews is going on about at MSNBC. Again, I can’t be bothered. So if anyone is watching, has anyone brought up the fact that McCain cheated on his first wife with his current one? I’d like to see that played out on the airwaves, Cheating: Why it's different for Republicans. I have however read the Huffington Post and Wall Street Journal online (for whatever reason that is beyond me) and this one little opinion piece really stuck with me. Take a look at it. The guy makes some very valid points.

I can only imagine what Elizabeth Edwards is going through. Not only did she have to deal with cancer treatments/recovery, she found out her husband cheated. Now she gets to rehash all that bullshit again AND have everyone question why she stayed with him. Fantastic. And cheated with this.

Bitch looks crazy and wears questionable hair accessories. You know she got knocked up on purpose (if it’s his, and that is highly likely in my opinion). She has that look about her. I mean shit, it’s bad enough your husband cheats on you, but he goes and does it with this low-rent fatal attraction looking piece. Read about her. She sounds like a real gem of a lady.