Thursday, November 13, 2008

Just a thought

This past Saturday night as I stuffed my face with pizza at my girlfriend's engagement party I was suddenly struck with the irony of the evening. Here I was celebrating my friend's impending nuptials while another dear friend and roommate was down the street marching for his right to marry if he so chooses one day. Surrounded by couples, married and not, I couldn't help but feel a little guilty for being there. I was happy to be there, to support my good friend and her fiance', alas I wanted to be with him and his friends marching through the streets. Granted, I'm not exactly sure what will come of all these protests, but I do want to show solidarity and nothing will change if we sit on our asses. For a brief moment I wanted to round everyone up at the party and make them go down the street and march. Of course I would look like the loose cannon bridesmaid, and it would have been completely inappropriate, but the thought crossed my mind.

I was talking to my mom, a Republican and a Christian, about Prop 8 and she had two very conflicting things to say about it. Her first point was that it was voted on by the people just like the presidential election and we have to live with how the majority votes. Secondly, she thinks gay folks should just be allowed to get married (but only in California I guess) and then they (the gays) would just shut up about it.

I get that it was voted on and part of living in a democracy is that majority rules. What I couldn't seem to get her to understand is that the majority shouldn't be able to discriminate and take away the civil liberties of minorities. During this conversation I realized that my parents and many other people I know back in North Carolina live in a bubble. They are not exposed to people that different from themselves, they haven't really been affected by the economy, and let's face it they are a little prejudiced. My dad comes from a generation when they did pull themselves up by their bootstraps (I hate that colloquialism) and make something of themselves. I just don't think he gets that others just aren't able to do the same not because they are lazy or stupid, but because of the circumstances they were born into and the lack of opportunity. Not saying it can't be done, but people are a product of their environment. Some people can rise above that and some cannot. It is bewildering when people have no desire to better themselves, but maybe they just don't know that they can.

I completely got off subject there, but my point to my mother was this; that you do have to fight for what you want. If no cared enough to fight for their rights women wouldn't have the right to vote, schools would still be segregated, and gay folks would have to remain closeted. I'm not saying the world will change overnight with a few protests and one election, but I think we're on our way and I know one day gay marriage will not be an issue anymore because everyone will have the right to marry anyone they choose. And don't even get me started on the fact that the only reason this came to a vote was because of the Morman church. Seriously, Mormans? Seriously?

That's all I got right now.